Previous World Cups

See Also:

ICCCricketWorldCup 2011

Match Results
Sat Mar 5 Sri Lanka v Australia No Result
Fri Mar 4 New Zealand v Zimbabwe New Zealand won by 10 wickets
Fri Mar 4 Bangladesh v West Indies West Indies won by 9 wickets
Thu Mar 3 Canada v Pakistan Pakistan won by 46 runs
See All Results

The 2011 ICCCricketWorldCup is the tenth Cricket World Cup being hosted by three South Asian Test cricket playing countries: India, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh. It is Bangladesh's first time co-hosting a Cricket World Cup. The World Cup will use cricket's One Day International format, with fourteen national cricket teams scheduled to compete. The World Cup will take place from 19th February to 2nd April 2011, with the first match played with co-hosts India and Bangladesh facing off at the Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium in Mirpur.

The ICC Cricket World Cup was also supposed to be co-hosted by Pakistan, but in the wake of the 2009 attack on the Sri Lanka national cricket team in Lahore, the International Cricket Council (ICC) decided to strip Pakistan of its hosting rights. The headquarters of the organising committee were originally situated in Lahore, but have now been shifted to Mumbai. Pakistan was supposed to hold 14 matches, including one semi-final. Eight of Pakistan's matches have been awarded to India, four to Sri Lanka and two to Bangladesh.

Late in 2007, the four host nations agreed upon a revised format for the 2011 ICC Cricket World Cup identical to the 1996 World Cup, the only change being the no. of teams as it was 12 in 1996 and 14 in 2011. The first round of the tournament will be a round-robin in which the 14 teams are divided into 2 groups of 7 teams each. The 7 teams play each other once with the top four from each group qualifying for the quarter-finals.

The 2011 ICC Cricket World Cup winning team would be taking home a prize money of US$ 4 million, with the International Cricket Council deciding to double the total allocation for the coveted tournament to US$ 10 millon. The decision was taken at the ICC Board meeting which was held in Dubai on April 20, 2010